Generation 1: Chapter 16

“Happy Birthday girls!!”

“Who wants cake?”

I watched as the girls made a mess of themselves and everything around them with their mushy chocolate birthday cake as I enjoyed my own piece with Clover and Vireo.

The party wasn’t too fancy since I figured the girls were only turning 2 and wouldn’t remember it, but it was still nice to sit down and relax a little. Poppy, Armeria, and Rosette were a handful now that they could all walk and talk their baby talk.

“Cake gone!”

“Poppy! Don’t throw the cake sweety.”

There was no denying it, Poppy was the little trouble maker of the group. Even as Clover hurried to clean her off she tried to make a nose dive strait into the sink, splashing water everywhere.

Rosette was the calm one in the bunch. She was perfectly happy to sit in her highchair and lick the frosting off of her cake. She was the easiest to deal with and her favorite thing was the radio. Whenever I needed a break I could just turn up the music and she would just sit and giggle at whatever music was playing.

“Daddy down!”

Or at least she would until she got bored anyways.

“Ok Rosey lets get cleaned up ok?”

“Okiee!!!”

Right when I picked up Rosette though, Armeria burst out into a fit of sobs, sulking into the grime she smeared all over her highchair. Whenever Meri gets upset she goes limp and just lays wherever the catastrophe happened until someone answers her pitiful cries. Definitely nothing like the other two who flail and scream when they’re upset.

“Cake eyes! Cake eyes! Wahhhh!!”

“Meri what’s wrong? Did you get cake in your eye!?” Clover rushed to clean the cake off of Meri’s face, leaving Poppy alone on the floor where she became very interested in the trashcan beside her.

Armeria was the biggest crybaby. She whined and sobbed at everything that went wrong in her tiny world. The poor child can’t help it though and it’s easy to tell why once you spend time with her. Meri was the clumsiest little berry that ever lived! She’s always running into walls and hitting herself on anything within 10 feet of her. She took the longest out of the 3 to learn to walk just because she couldn’t get anywhere on her shaky little legs without tripping over herself. Then because she always managed to fall and hurt herself, she was always crying. It was truly a never-ending cycle.

Clover managed to hush Meri and grab Poppy before she could crawl into the trash.

“Thanks Clover, can you help me get them settled for a picture?”

“Yah sure, Hey Vir?  Can you hold Poppy for me?”

Clover passed off Poppy to him and helped me to get the rest of the cake off of the other two.

Another thing about Poppy is that she completely adored Vireo. Well actually all of the girls do, but Poppy would always turn into a perfect angel-cake whenever he held her. The guy had talent, that’s all I can say about it.

Clover had completely saved me from crashing and burning when things got tough. If it hadn’t been for her watching the girls, my band would have gone up in smoke. Now we’re doing fine, hitting about 3 gigs a week and it’s all thanks to her that I’m making enough to keep the family afloat. Even now she helped me to arrange the girls and get them to stay so that I could snap a quick picture.

“Okay girls say cheese!”

“Cheee!!”

. . .

“Molly I wish you could see the girls, they’re growing up so fast! Meri is even walking now, have I already told you that?”

I waited for a response, maybe a flicker of an eye or a twitch of her fingers, but got nothing.

“I’m sure I have..”

It’s been 2 years and she still hasn’t woken up. The doctors say its an anomaly, that there was only a 2% chance she wouldn’t wake up. Now they’ve all but given up but I can’t bare to give up hope that she’ll open her eyes someday soon.

“We had a party for the girls earlier today. They’re 2 now, can you believe it?”

Still no answer.

“The terrible 2’s. I wish that you could see them now. Clover too, she’s grown up so much and is starting college at Strawberry Blend University this fall. It’s hard to believe, but I guess she wasn’t going to be around for forever.”

I checked my watch. Almost time for band practice…

“I really miss you Molly, I’ll come visit again tomorrow.” I leaned down to kiss her colorless cheek and before walking out I remembered to set down the picture of the girls I took earlier.

“I brought you this- it’s a picture of the girls.”

I set down the picture on the side table and then walked out. It gets harder everyday when I go to see Molly. Each day arriving with high hopes and then leaving crushed, with no sign of progress at all. It was all I could do to keep myself together just to take care of the girls.

. . .

“Hey Olly? Can I talk to you?”

Clover came up to me when I had gotten home that night. It was quiet which was a relief because it meant the girls had already fallen to sleep.

“Sure Clover what’s up?”

“Well…umm, I’m getting married. Look!”

She flashed a shiny ring in front of my face and smiled, while I just stood there as the expression of complete surprise spread across my face. I figured this would happen but I didn’t think it would happen so soon!

“Clover don’t you think your still a little young to be getting married!?” I blurted out and then quickly recovered myself when I saw the hurt look that she gave me.

“I mean this is great! I’m so happy for you and Vireo, but you haven’t even started college yet.”

“I know, but we’ll be going to the same college and there’s this cute little house close to campus that we can afford to rent. Olly it’s perfect!”

Her excitement was contagious and I smiled along with her. I knew it would happen eventually and I guess there wasn’t anyone else I’d rather have her end up with than the guy who’s already saved her life. Still, its so hard to believe my youngest sister is already an adult. And an engaged adult at that!

Comments
3 Responses to “Generation 1: Chapter 16”
  1. FyireChilde says:

    D=

    …why does everyone leave him…poor Olly, poor girls…

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] https://oneofonehundredat.wordpress.com/2011/12/27/generation-1-chapter-16/ GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_bg", "eeeae8"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_text", "000000"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_link", "497ca7"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_border", "878584"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_url", "7599B7"); GA_googleAddAttr("LangId", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "books"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "family"); GA_googleFillSlot("wpcom_sharethrough"); Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]



Leave a comment

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other subscribers